Login  |  Register



14 Apr 2011 - 80's News

DAVID BOWIE is to release a live album in April, featuring a concert recorded during his 50th birthday celebrations at New York's Madison Square Gardens in 1997. 'Birthday Celebration - Live in NYC 1997' will feature a number of special guests including ROBERT SMITH, FRANK BLACK, SONIC YOUTH and LOU REED. See NEWS for the full album tracklisting.

ERASURE and PUBLIC IMAGE LIMITED have both been added to the bill of Surrey festival Guilfest, with both bands appearing on July 17th. Public Image Limited have also announced a short run of UK dates in May and June, see GIGS for all the dates.

GARY NUMAN and PRINCE are among the artists covered on 'Medium Rare', a special edition vinyl album recorded by the Foo Fighters for Record Store Day next month. The album of covers will be released via participating shops on April 16th. See NEWS for the album tracklisting.

MEN WITHOUT HATS have announced a trio of Canadian shows in Edmonton, Clagary and Castlegar in May. See GIGS for all the dates.

ANDY BELL of ERASURE has announced that he will be hosting his own clubnight, 'A Quiet Life', at The Queen of Hoxton in East London on May 13th and will be DJing and performing a short live set at the event which promises electro, pop and eighties music!

MIKE SCOTT of THE WATERBOYS will release 'In A Special Place' on April 25th, and album of his solo piano and vocal demos recorded at the start of sessions for the album that became The Waterboys' classic 'This Is The Sea' album. The fifteen-track album will feature early versions of some of the tracks that made it onto the album, alongside a number of previously unreleased songs. The Waterboys have also announced that they will play at the London Feis, in Finsbury Park, on June 18th this year.

OMD, EDWYN COLLINS and THE WATERBOYS will all appear at this year's Latitude festival in Southwold, Suffolk between July 14th and July 17th.

PEPSI AND SHIRLIE's debut album 'All Right Now' will be reissued on April 25th in an expanded edition that also includes a previously unreleased track 'Who's Gonna Catch You' plus a further five bonus tracks. See NEWS for the full album tracklisting.

BRYAN FERRY has announced dates across Europe in April, May, June, July and August this year, including a number of shows the UK. See GIGS for all the dates.

Thanks to:

Share on Facebook!Share on Twitter!g+

Comments *