Login  |  Register



18 Aug 2008 - 80's News

MORRISSEY's new studio album 'Years Of Refusal', originally expected to be released in September, will now to be released in early 2009.

THE THOMPSON TWINS reissue a remastered edition of their brilliant 'Here's To Future Days' album this week in a dramatically expanded 2-CD package featuring the original album plus all the 12" remixes, bonus tracks and b-sides from the record... 28 TRACKS in all.

DAVE STEWART is undertaking a special tour with a 'rock orchestra' to promote his upcoming release 'The Dave Stewart Songbook, Volume 1' which collates songs the former EURYTHMICS mainman has written with a number of artists including JON BON JOVI, TOM PETTY and SINEAD O'CONNOR. See GIGS for all the dates.

JOE JACKSON has announced another round of US dates in support of his recent album 'Rain', starting in San Francisco in October and finishing in Miami Beach in November. See GIGS for all the dates.

KRAFTWERK are to be the subject of a new documentary 'Kraftwerk and the Electronic Revolution' which will be released on September 2nd. The release charts the history and influence of the act and includes interviews with band members, rare live footage and previously unreleased photographs.

NIK KERSHAW has announced another of his occasional acoustic concerts and will play Andover's The Lights on November 12th. See GIGS for all his upcoming dates.

THE CLASH are to release a live album, featuring a concert they played supporting THE WHO at New York's Shea Stadium in 1982, on October 6th. The release will contain the band's entire fifteen song set. Released on the same day is Don Lett's DVD 'The Clash Live - Revolution Rock' which contains more than twenty performances from all stages of The Clash's career. Additionally, a book entitled 'The Clash By The Clash', the first authorised biography of the band, featuring extensive interviews with all the band member will be published on October 3rd.

DAVID BYRNE's much anticipated album with BRIAN ENO, their first collaboration since 1981's 'My Life in the Bush of Ghosts', will be entitled 'Everything That Happens Will Happen Today' and is released on August 18th, preceded by a free download single 'Strange Overtones' via the release's official website. See NEWS for the full album tracklisting and download link.

JAPAN's back catalogue has been reissued in Japan in scaled-down CD-size replicas of the original album covers. The reissue series also includes the eponymous album from Japan spin-off RAIN TREE CROW as well as three DAVID SYLVIAN solo albums.

With thanks to"The eighties... up to date!"

Share on Facebook!Share on Twitter!g+

Comments *