Login  |  Register



11 Jun 2008 - 80's News

PET SHOP BOYS, PROPAGANDA, FRANKIE GOES TO HOLLYWOOD, DOLLAR, GRACE JONES and ABC are among the artists featured on a DVD release of 2004's PRODUCED BY TREVOR HORN show which took place at London's Wembley Arena to mark the producer's 25th anniversary in the music business. The DVD, entitled 'Slaves To The Rhythm', will be released on June 16th. See NEWS for the full line-up and tracklisting.

BOY GEORGE has added more dates to his forthcoming US tour which will see the former CULTURE CLUB frontman play twenty-five shows across the country in July and August. See GIGS for all the dates.

SOFT CELL's long-awaited album of contemporary remixes of their classic material, 'Heat: The Remixes', will be released on August 4th. The double album includes 26 brand new interpretations of many classic Soft Cell singles, plus key album tracks, b-sides and rarities. A 40 track expanded digital edition, featuring additional bonus remixes and tracks not on the CD will also be available. Soft Cell will also release an expanded version of their classic 'Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret' album on the same day with similar editions of 'The Art Of Falling Apart' and 'This Last Night In Sodom' to follow. See NEWS for the full album tracklisting.

YAZOO have announced another US show at California's Costa Mesca Orange County Fair on July 24th where they will be supported by the PSYCHEDELIC FURS. Yazoo are also planning a live album to mark their current 'Reconnected' tour and will be recording their forthcoming London shows for the project, in the meantime the duo will release a limited edtion 12" single of contemporary mixes of some of their classic tracks on June 9th. The 'Reconnected EP' will also be available as a download bundle. See NEWS for the full EP tracklisting.

EDWYN COLLINS new single 'Home Again' will be limited to just 1,500 copies including 25 singles in custom designed sleeves from 25 celebrities including Irvine Welsh, Franz Ferdinand, Nicky Wire, Jarvis Cocker, Pete Shelley, John Squire and Richard Hawley have all got involved. The single will be released on June 23rd and the singles in special sleeves will be randomly distributed in shops across the country.

MORRISSEY's new album, currently scheduled for a September release, will be called 'Years of Refusal' and will be preceded by a reissue of his 1995 album 'Southpaw Grammar' in a remastered edition with three previously unreleased tracks and new artwork.

U2 will reissue remastered and expanded editions of their albums 'October', 'Boy' and 'War' on July 22nd. Each album will be available as a remastered single CD, a deluxe set with a second disc of extras and on vinyl. See NEWS on the website for the full list of bonus tracks for each album.

THE ALARM, THE ENGLISH BEAT and THE FIXX are planning a joint US tour for the summer under the banner of the 'Rockin' The Colonies' tour. Dates are to be announced shortly.

BILLY IDOL will release one of the new tracks, 'John Wayne', from his forthcoming 'Idolize Yourself' collection as a download single on July 7th. The CD/DVD 'Idolize Yourself' will now follow on July 21st.

SIMPLE MINDS' original line-up have announced that they will be going into the studio this summer with the aim of recording at least two new songs for possible release later this year. The line-up of Brian McGee, Derek Forbes, Mick McNeil, Jim Kerr and Charlie Burchill, back in touch because of the band's 30th anniversary tour later this year, will go into the studio sometime in June.

JOHN FOXX will play a one-off UK show with LOUIS GORDON at London's Cargo on October 16th. The duo will also play a show at Venice's Fucina Controvento on October 18th, while Foxx will take his 'Cathedral Oceans' show to Durham Castle on June 18th. - "The eighties... up to date!"
Share on Facebook!Share on Twitter!g+

Comments *